Playing Catchup


Okay, so it’s 5:38 NL time and I’m bored out of my skull already. I’m sitting in a wee little room in Gander and am remided that just a year ago, I was pretty much doing the same thing…EXCEPT…here I am feeling safe and freezing my cahoney’s off.

A short synopsis since the last time I posted…let’s see, lots of stuff going on. First and foremost, Cameron has been on his own since the middle of February. We shipped him out to Manitoba to start his career and I’ve missed him, and worried about him ever since…guess that’s the new norm for me now. But he’s doing great just as I knew he would. I love you buddy.

I had a great summer birding and hanging out with those I love and missed during the time I was away. Looking back now though, I realize that my head was still somewhere else.. although at the time it didn’t feel like it. Lots of hugs and kisses to Tim for being there for me during that time post South Sudan. You’re the best babes.

Some accomplishments since being back…yeah, yeah, pride comes before a fall! LOL. At least it will be on record now.

3rd place in the CAF photography contest for my Monkey mom and baby picture.

2nd place in the Sierra Club photo contest for a picture of a yellow warbler

Ruffed Grouse picture featured on the Cornell of Ornithology Facebook page with a write up from the staff

Canada Warbler picture featured on the cover of the Spring issue of the NSBS magazine

2 pictures of mine are now being displayed at the Museum of Natural History..have yet to get to see them

All in all, my hobby has become very gratifying and I am only getting better I think. Practice makes perfect. 🙂

In October I was sent to Gander for 2 months…at the time I didn’t think that was a great idea, however, it turned out to be the best thing that happened for me (careerwise) since before leaving Kingston. I came back with my confidence…the people here are beyond friendly and a little appreciation for my skills and knowledge went a long way to restoring it.

We had a lovely and quiet Christmas break spending time with loved ones and counting down the days until Cameron left.

I am now back in Gander for another fairly long stint but enjoying it no less, even with the cold.

I was fortunate and traversed to Goose Bay this week…finally got to see my Ptarmigans I had so desparately wanted to find!

Willow Ptarmigan

As you can see, I played with my watermark and figured out how to make it look a tad more professional.

Now where was I? Oh yes, other than that, things have been pretty quiet. I will finish working here and then I will be off on another adventure at an Artillary unit…should be great..I’ll get every Friday off for working some nights during the month. Love it! More twitching time!

I believe that I will also be allowed to do Public Affairs work there as well, which means that all my photography equipment will be provided (albeit Nikon!!!) so that I will be able to go out and get pictures of the boys in action. Can’t wait!

I want to send a shout out to my new friends here in Gander who may not know that I am an on and off blogger…

Angie! Your open arms my first day here have not yet closed and I thank you! Always keep them open for me. 🙂

Lori! I know you won’t see this because you’re not on Facebook but what a time! Can’t wait to spend St. Patty’s day in Buchans!

Juanita! We only just met and hung out together for a couple of weeks before such tragedy parted us…but we met for a reason and although it may not be clear yet, the reason will make itself known.

For all of you gals, as soon as we met, there was a connection and I feel like we’ve known each other for a lot longer than we have…I wonder if I was a Newf in my previous life?

OH YEAH! I forgot, I also got screeched in the last time I was here….kissed a cod and everyting! Now I’m a true blue honorary Newf by!

I’ll leave you not promising to keep this up while I’m here…but a promise that I will try. Here are some scenic pics from the last time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on March 7, 2015, in Home. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Aww shucks.

  2. Same sentiments here as Kim! Keep up the good work! 😊

  3. Great to hear from your blog again. Keep up the good work while you are away. Hope you get lots of twitching in!

Leave a Reply

