7 May 2014 – Update


For Ashley and Cameron.
Only 3 days and a wakie left before I head back to put my feet on Canadian soil!

The time since my last posting has gone very quickly and I realized that the ordinary stuff that I haven’t written about, may not be so ordinary to everyone else.

We have been fortunate to be able to have house gatherings again and I have spent time hanging with my two new friends, Janelle and Anita. Ironically, I make friends with people that I would love to have spent my whole tour with, 2 weeks from the end of it.

It would seem, at least on the surface, that the crew that is here now is going to have the kind of tour that I had expected. I wish them all the best and I pray for a peaceful six months for them so they don’t leave with the lasting impressions of this country that I have.

Friday is going to be a rough day. I will say good bye to the girls, Irene and Rose. I have gift bags ready and full of little things I thought they would like…but it will be hard to leave them behind here.

Tomorrow is going to be my farewell luncheon so that promises to be a good time and for the rest of the time before I go, I plan to relax and decompress a little by the water reservoir.

I will have one more post after this and just before I leave.

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off.

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on May 7, 2014, in Shining Moments. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. theunforgivingminute

    I have enjoyed reading your posts over the past few months. I smiled for you, I cried for you, I reminisced with you and I learned through your words. I hope that you have gotten some solace in your blog and that you will continue to find things to write about once home. I know this wasn’t an easy tour for you. It wouldn’t be an easy tour for anyone. Many soldiers have turned the Sudan down out of extreme isolation, fear, uncertainty and others. Keep your chin up. You can be proud of your time there. I am.

    • Thank you Tanya. You always seem to have the right words for me at the right time and they lift me up even as others try to knock me down. It has been a tough tour and the blogging helped immensely! I will continue to write and update my memoires as life goes on. 🙂

  2. Safe travels…

Leave a Reply

