23 April 14 – Nijmegen Part Deux


AHA! I was going through my pictures and I found the rest of the ones I took from Nijmegen! I think I have Alzheimer’s….I forgot that I was at the opening ceremonies as well. Here are some more pictures to go along with my original story.

The bus ride to Vimy Ridge

DSCF0003

Me in one of the trenches at the frontlines of Vimy Ridge

DSCF0028

The Canadian Front Line…and if you look closely, way in the background, that’s the German Front Line….that’s how close they were to each other during the war.

DSCF0029

The Givenchy Road Canadian Cemetery at Vimy…such well kept Cemeteries in Europe

DSCF0049

Too many tombstones with epitaph to count.

DSCF0050

The Team at the entrance to the camp where we stayed….love the entrance!

DSCF0114

The Nijmegen 4 days march opening ceremonies.

DSCF0086

The Canadian Cemetery in Holland. You can see how hot and dry it was there….

DSCF0103

The painted rocks, flag and pictures that I laid at the grave site of Donna’s father, Private Alfred T Sedgman

DSCF0099

The cadet’s that went to the school that was named after him in Southern Ontario…tough kids!

DSCF0097

A calliope in Nijmegen town

DSCF0054

Interior of one of the oldest churches in the town

DSCF0120

DSCF0116

One of the activities we participated in once the marches were cancelled…trying to stay cool.

DSCF0094

And finally, a view of the Bridge too far in Eindhoven from the clock tower window.

DSCF0127

That’s it for today

soldiermomma signing off

 

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on April 23, 2014, in Shining Moments. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Every,picture a memory to recall. Thanks for sharing,

Leave a Reply

