21 April 2014 – Crow


Well vacation is over….not really a vacation but a couple of days out of the office anyway. Saturday I locked the door and played hermit….if I don’t lock the door, it becomes a revolving one and I just wouldn’t have had any peace and quiet.

The past couple of days have been spent in my room, chatting with people back home, watching movies and relaxing.

Update on Fluffball…I think I misnamed him….he is 4 times the size he was just a week after hatching. He has lost most of those soft downey feathers and now looks more like a porcupine with his adult feathers coming in. He has turned a dark color and has lost the white at the end of his beak that was present when he hatched. Mom and dad are spending more time together away from the nest….Junior is just too big to sit on anymore. I actually heard him “peep” for the first time yesterday!

I have tried getting pictures and have had no more luck with that netting that is in the way…although I must say, as much as I wish that netting wasn’t there, it almost wasn’t yesterday! This fellow decided that after he sat on my ledge and talked with himself for awhile, that he would fly over and land on the AC that the nest is behind.

IMG_1752

When I got there, he had the netting and was pulling on it, trying to get it out! Poor little Fluffball sits on that netting as part of the nest…not sure what would have happened had that crow been successful. Anyway, mom and dad weren’t there so I shooed the crow away and saved their little one from what might have been a nasty fall or worse! I hope that mom and dad appreciate what I do for them when babysitting!

Last night was spent at a house BBQ….chicken and lots of other really good side dishes were the fare…and some yummy coconut cake at the end!

Other than that, nothing much to write about today…I haven’t thought of any other good stories yet!

That’s it for today

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on April 21, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

