20 April 2014 – Chicken Tour


Okay, so I took you back in time to Bosnia in 2003-2004, then skipped ahead to Nijmegen in 2006. Today I want to go to the year 2007 and share something a little funny.

As I mentioned earlier, my Nijmegen adventure was where I first thought about becoming a flight attendant for the military. I was talking with some of the crew on the way over and the seed was planted.

This was a job I thought would be awesome! I could work, travel, and get to see things all at the same time!

So I did my application up, got all the approvals and off we went to another posting….I do have to interject in here that during all of this, I had a very supportive family and I wouldn’t have been able to do it without them. 🙂

Leading into this story, we have to go back to Bosnia to understand the idea behind this adventure. Our camp Sargeant Major at the time had brought an egg head into theater…it’s like a potato head but was an egg instead…anyway, you get the picture.

Someone decided to play a prank on him and “obtained” Mr. Egghead and proceeded to travel around the country, taking pics of him in different locations doing different things. It was the big joke of the tour and quite funny.

My girlfriend, who was on that tour with me, although based in another area, may have gotten her inspiration for the chicken tour from this…I’m not sure. Tanya, feel free to correct me on any of these details!

She approached me one day asking if I would take a rubber chicken that she had “obtained” from her boss (??). I thought it would be fun, so I got the chicken and off I went with him. The following pictures and commentary are from a trip I did that took Team Canada over to Dubai where they then went and performed for the troops in Afghanistan.

Picture 005

Since chickens can’t fly, he needed a little help from KLM…on the way to Germany.

Picture 006

And of course, nothing but the best for Mr.Chicken…business class all the way!

When we got to Germany, I took Mr. Chicken on a sight seeing tour and ended up running into some of his relatives in the mall! How fortunate for him!

Team Canada 032

Team Canada 033

And much to his surprise, he was able to get in on the wedding of his distant cousin!

Team Canada 035

In preparation of taking over the airbus out of Germany to head into Dubai, Mr. Chicken thought it would be cool to try and pilot the plane…I think he had a “no-fly” complex or something!

Team Canada 018

Team Canada 019

And Mr.Chicken certainly had to prove he wasn’t chicken at all…that he was quite the brave traveller…this wasn’t a bird strike!

Team Canada 020

When we got to Dubai, Team Canada headed out to Afghanistan and we were left for 5 days to tour the area and wait for them to come back so we could take them home. Mr. Chicken, after all the excitement of meeting his long lost relatives, thought that a day on the beach would be good for his complexion…he was looking a little pale.

Picture 011

He wanted to go gold shopping at the Suq, so we took him on a little cruise to get there..

Picture 067

We went to Wally’s World Waterpark where a girlfriend tried to steal him from me!

Picture 100

And where he thought it would be fun to do the tourist thing!

Picture 099

We didn’t always do what Mr. Chicken wanted….I had to put him away to do this! Can you believe I completely forgot about this until I saw the picture! I guess I was a latent birder, even back then!

Picture 046

Mr.Chicken wasn’t discovered by Mr.Falcon, so it was all good (he was tucked safely away in my purse).

This was a great trip…he got to hob nob with some of the hockey greats!

Team Canada 055

I can’t remember his name! Mark somebody or other! Arrrgh

Team Canada 043

Mr.Chicken with our CDS at the time, Mr. Hillier and with Nylund I do believe.

And yes, we hung out with Blue Rodeo for this trip!

Team Canada 042

Don’t be jealous….;) Since we were on strict orders not to touch the cup, I didn’t…see my hand!

Team Canada 065189_12344523867_4184_n

At the end, we flew into Edmonton and Mr.Chicken was exhausted, so we decided to chillax and listen to a little music….

Team Canada 012

Have a little drink….

Team Canada 010 

And get some well deserved rest!

Team Canada 011

What a laugh we had getting these pictures…the crew was awesome and got on board with it all. Once Mr. Chicken was returned to his rightful owner and the pictures revealed, he thought they were all photo shopped…I don’t think he even knew Mr.Chicken had left the building!

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off

 

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on April 20, 2014, in Shining Moments. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Really funny, the little guy is quite the traveller.. That makes me wonder if I can get someone to borrow me and take me to all these exciting places. I don’t think I could be as brave as him though. Great memory you have shared Lou-Anne. Thanks

Leave a Reply

