19 April 2014 – Reality


So I’ve been going back in time putting pen to paper (what an irrelevant cliché in this age of keyboards and screens) in an effort to keep my posts from being too boring. 

At present, I am still counting down the days until I leave (which is only 21 as of today!!). Nothing really happened this week although I did get to see my Rafiki at the grocery store (for those who remember that Lion King story). He was very happy to see me and we made arrangements for me to go back and we will get a picture of us together with our Canadian flags on our shirts.  They call me “Sgt” when I go in and Philip (that’s Rafiki’s real name) even went so far as to do a little drill for me! Seems as though he spent some time in the military at some point in his life. Such wonderful people…I wish I had more time to spend with them.

We’ve had three huge storms here in the past week which translates into mud holes in the road so deep you can’t tell if it’s safe to drive through and not get stuck…the lightening here is incredible…I think it’s because you can see it so well since there aren’t any lights in the city itself at night. And the wind! Whew! I just wonder how long it will take for those that are in the UN camps being taken care to get to the point where they don’t want to live that way anymore…and I wonder what will happen when that decision is made.

When I say nothing really happened this week, I mean that nothing really happened to me….however, that’s not the case with one of our guys who has less than a week left before leaving. If you think I have a black cloud hanging over my head, I’ve got nothing on this guy.

He’s all packed up, only a couple hours from leaving, taking a walk around his UN camp with another guy who is getting ready to go, when all of a sudden the bullets started flying and they had to do the duck and cover dash for about 500 yrds to reach safety. Once the dust settled, he had to help with getting the dead and wounded ready for a Casualty Evacuation Flight (which he managed to get on so he could back here to finish getting ready to leave) and when he showed up here, he had blood on his combats and was telling us what happened. I won’t get into details…I’m not sure what’s been made public….but let’s just say, he went out with a bang. I’m not sure if I would be able to sleep at night with pictures like that in my head….especially since the casualties were mostly women and children. It breaks my heart.

Such is life  in South Sudan.

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on April 19, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So tragic to think of what’s taking place outside of our comfort zone. So proud of you and all the troops for trying to make a difference. Thanks for your post Lou-Anne, I don’t get to them all but I will catch up. So very interesting, it’s like reading a good book and looking forward with anticipation to the next chapter. Keep Safe!

Leave a Reply

