17 April 2014 – Still counting


Yup, I’m still counting the days until my departure. My replacement is getting his flight booked so it looks as if I will be able to book mine out and I won’t be delayed for any reason! WOOT!

Yesterday was hectic, picking people up, dropping them off…lots of comings and goings!

The baby pigeon (I shall name him Fluffball), is doing well from the looks of things. He seems to be shuffling around better on his own volition and before you know it, he will be flying! Still a little ball of nothingness right now, but I can see a difference, however slight, already.

I was sitting out on the balcony last night before bed. What a surprise I got when I heard a “screech” and looked front and center to see this ghostly spectre of a bird flying out of the dark toward me! It took me a few moments to realize what was happening (not something you see all the time, so it’s surprising). The owl flew up over the house and when I went to find where it landed, it was on the water tower. By the time I got the binos to look at him closer through the window, he was gone. I am holding to my ID from the first sighting of him as being a Barn Owl…medium sized, all white underneath in flight…it put me in mind of the Snowy Owl to see him. So cool! I haven’t laid eyes on him since early December I think it was.

It’s a long weekend back home coming up which means it will pretty quiet here due to nobody being at work. Not sure I will blog everyday unless there’s something cool to blog about or I think of another story to tell from my vault.

What I can’t get over is that UN shuts down on Easter weekend???? Really??

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off.

 

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on April 17, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

