12 April 2014 – Time is Short


I checked my count down timer yesterday and was delighted to see the number 29 pop up!! Woohoo…28 days left as of this post and I couldn’t be happier!

I hear the weather there cleared up nicely after I left…just as I predicted. You can all thank me later! LOL

I also saw that a couple of vagrant birds were found near the city…that’s twice now that just as I leave, something interesting pops up and I can’t get to see it.!

It was a nice reunion with Irene yesterday! She loved the T Shirt that I bought her and I gave her a couple of little summer dresses that I had brought with me…she was tickled and it’s less for me to pack now. šŸ™‚

A pretty standard day was had by all yesterday…very quiet around here…not that’s it’s a bad thing.

Sadly, we couldn’t get a computer to work to set up the webcam. Ken has an idea so I hope it will work. I watched momma this morning, trying to get comfortable in her spot and got a really good look at her egg. It looks like that will be the only one. It’s a lot bigger than I imagined and she was trying her darndest to get it in a spot that would keep it warm….it’s cool here this morning. She was picking feathers up and tucking them under her, then she would try to turn around (no easy feat in that spot) and then she would tuck the egg under her. She didn’t like that position, so she would start over. So interesting to watch! Thank god that they chose there to nest…it’s going to be something that will give me a break and I hope it all ends well for the hatchling.

I finally figured out where all my developed pictures I had saved were and how to get them back up so I can go through them again…got a good laugh at some of them and with a different eye, re-composed a few, perhaps for inclusion in the new website. We’ll see…I’m my own worst critic…at least that’s what Tim says. But I don’t agree…when I have fab pic out of lots to choose from, I immediately say “That’s the one!” and I haven’t changed my mind on those. So I usually stick with my first impression…if I’m wishy washy about the way something looks, then usually it’s because I know I can do better…and I will do better this year!

Re-supply run today and some stocking up on groceries. Lots of people are due to arrive next week and then things will really start to pick up here…should provide some more stories for me to jot down!

That’s it for today

soldiermomma signing off

 

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on April 12, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

