11 April 14 – Life


Bastard and Asshole are no more! I didn’t realize until after I posted yesterday that they are gone! I wondered why they didn’t wake me up my first morning back. Turns out it wasn’t because I was so tired that I just didn’t hear them! They just aren’t there. But neither are the chickens nor the family that was living there. Not sure why they moved, but they packed up and left dodge. Maybe it had something to do with the searches of compounds that have been going on around us since I left. Oddly enough, it is weird not to hear them…it’s so quiet!

In fact, as I sat and took a good look around, there seem to be a lot less people living in the immediate vicinity than when I left. Strange.

In the year since I started birding, it has become second nature to notice birds wherever I go. Yesterday, I noticed a pigeon had worked it’s way in behind the air conditioning unit that is mounted on a ledge just outside the office window. After watching for a few minutes, I could only conclude that they were sitting on a nest! Sure enough, as I watched, one of the pigeons flew out and another came in and during the change over, there was the egg! My curiosity got the better of me, and I looked up a few pigeon facts. Turns out there may be another egg on the way and it takes 17-19 days for gestation and about 4 weeks to fledge…so I might get lucky and see some new life here in this land of desolation. I know, it’s only a pigeon, but it amazes me that no matter what humans do to each other, life goes on in one form or another…. Ken is going to help me set up a webcam and laptop so hopefully we can capture the happy event digitally.

It was lonely without Beth yesterday. She is winging her way home now and I console myself with the fact that she lives close enough that we will be able to stay in touch and visit each other. Safe travels my tour sister.

That’s it for today

soldiermomma signing off

 

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on April 11, 2014, in Shining Moments. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You have a heart and soul that encompasses the world we live in!!!! Thank you for being the great human being you are!!! Can’t wait to check out whatever shots you share!!!! I am heading across the road to a little wooded area to try and catch sight of some wildlife!!!!
    Take care my friend!!!!

Leave a Reply

