29 March 2014 – Eagle


When we came out here to look at the house for the very first time looking to purchase, before we even got to it, we saw a Bald Eagle sitting in the tree near the road. Now, I wasn’t a birder at the time, but I still had an appreciation for our feathered friends and both Tim and I were in the truck saying “how cool a neighbor would that be?” The Eagle pretty much had the house sold for us sight unseen.

Once we moved in, I started putting out feeders and then we started seeing birds that we never knew existed! That hooked me and I have made several attempts over this past year at getting great pictures of the eagles in that same area, all the while, drooling with envy over other people’s pictures they have been getting.

Patience is a virtue, and yesterday, after a so-so day birding, I was almost home when I spotted my chance. A young eagle had perched in a tree branch that hangs over the road! WOW! The beauty of living on a dirt road is that you can stop right in the middle of it and not really have to worry. So I did. I started by taking pics out my window…they are not known to stick around once they see you coming towards him. Once I figured he was there to stay, I got out and he let me do a photo shoot…my heart! I got great pics!

1C1A6205

1C1A6214

1C1A6351

1C1A6265

That’s not to say that the rest of my day was a complete wash out as far as pictures go….

1C1A5803

1C1A5928

1C1A5939

1C1A5871

1C1A6042

Cameron is still sick, so we had to put his Birthday celebration off until next Saturday. Not sure what today will bring, but I’m ready to get out there and find out!

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on March 29, 2014, in Adventures in Birdland. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

