19 March 2014 – Tapping Foot


Laura- Lea, your packages came in!

Got my last boxes of feel good mail yesterday…and it was filled with feel good stuff! Thanks to my sister! Tonight, Beth and I will have a feel good evening…I will try to get someone to take pics…should be funny!

Still counting down…the excitement is building. If I’m like for a two week vacation from here, what will I be like when I am getting ready to leave for good? Guess I’ll have to wait to find out.

I was chatting with my replacement yesterday…turns out he’s an amateur chef…boy, will I be taking advantage of him for the time we are both together! 😉

I remember before I came over having so many questions on what to bring, what to leave, what to expect and he has the same ones but my list for him is a little different than the list I put together since we have different passions. He said he would show me how to cook plantains on the barbie with chili peppers and honey..OMG, something to look forward to for my last week here! Oddly enough, he’s also from the area where my Grandmother used to live and where we used to hang out. I have to find out if he went to school with me in Grade 12…what a small world!

I also heard from the guy that I replaced…he keeps emailing asking how things are going, getting updates…funny how this place gets under your skin and you form a bond with the mission. I really hope that I can stay in touch with the guards and the cleaners through email and the clerk that is here after I leave. 

When I first arrived, my gut instinct said that I would do this tour again and I verbalized that when asked. I said to wait six months and I would see if I changed my mind. Well, five months has passed now and I reflected on that statement yesterday. Would I do this tour again?

My answer is still yes. Will I get this tour again? Probably not. But who knows? 

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on March 19, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

