18 March 2014 – WOW!


Almost two weeks gone by and not one sound of gunfire heard! That’s a record for here!

I am so excited about getting home…each day that goes by, it gets harder and harder to concentrate on what I should be doing…I can barely contain myself! I am so homesick and I miss Tim and Cameron so very much.  It’s easy to deal with when you’re here, immersed in the job and the lifestyle, to forget what is left behind. Then you realize that going back is looming just around the corner, and you’re mind is flooded with scenes of what it’s like to be back home…you start anticipating the plans you’ve made and you wonder how you will ever fit everything in that you want to do the short time you have. I’m very excited that Tim put up the feeders again..by the time I get back, there should be lots of activity!

There has been no more rain since last week either…thank god, because I was getting tired of doing mop up! The roof has been fixed and the windows will hopefully be done this week…if it all works as planned, then let it rain! Crossing fingers.

So today is going to be spent trying to get things ready for poor Ken to take over my job while I’m away. I don’t envy him being here alone at this particular time of the tour…lots going on in preparation for the new people to start arriving, and then there’s end of fiscal year financial stuff to deal with. He’ll be busy, that’s for sure.

So without further ado, I shall end this post and leave you with a shot I sniped out of the front window Sunday of a Kite wrestling with some sort of scrap he picked up.

1C1A1576

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off 

 

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on March 18, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

