17 March 2013 – Countdown


Yesterday was my last day of birding here. I’m a little sad over that because as I found out, there are still birds hanging around at one spot that I hadn’t seen before this. It was sad to see how much had changed on the base since the crisis and how much destruction of the birds habitat had been destroyed. It’s not nearly the birding paradise that it was 3 months ago. 😦

I was put in touch with a guy from Norway who is about as crazy about birding as I am…he tagged along and we had a blast. We went off road this time, prowling through the bushes trying to see what we could see…we saw Brown Babblers, Cisticolas, Bishops, Blue Finches, Waxbills, Fire Finches, Ganoleks etc

That being said, I did find two new birds yesterday to round my grand total of lifers in Africa to 180! Not too shabby for the amount of time I’ve had to get out and look for them.

This little gal was a new one! A Chinspot Batis! I saw both male and female, and like our Belted Kingfishers, the female holds all the beauty!

1C1A1948

And this one was a new one as well, I just haven’t confirmed an ID on it.

1C1A1778

Driving around the base, I spotted this guy in a tree.

1C1A1847

I haven’t figured what type of Harrier…I believe it to be a European Marsh Harrier, but he did do some aerial displays for us…you can see why they designed and named the plane after them!

1C1A1869

1C1A1885My best shot of a harrier yet!

Near the end of our time wandering around, we watched the Yellow Billed Kites fighting over some food…this is a common occurrence…they are the Gulls of Africa in the sense they scavenge for garbage and are opportunists when it comes to stealing what isn’t theirs!

1C1A1972

1C1A1973

1C1A1974

I’m not entirely convinced that the bird with the scrap is a Kite, but no time to ponder on it right now.

At the end of the day, we went for supper to wish another good friend safe travels as she wends her way back to Canada. Violetskyline, keep safe, and may the wind always be beneath your wings. 🙂

That’s it for today

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on March 17, 2014, in Adventures in Birdland, South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

