16 March 2014 – Madagascar


It was a nice day yesterday….not just weather wise, but because of the company we kept.

I did do some work in the morning, but that didn’t take too long…poor Ken was running around trying to get our lack of water situation under control…the new pump we bought burned out and we had to get someone in to replace it..sigh. Seems like water is our new enemy…either lack of it or too much of it. 

Once that all got sorted out, we met our Aussie friends for lunch! Finally! We’ve been trying for a month to get together! So, we said good-bye and hello at the same time..goodbye to Nikki and Craig and hello to Ginelle and Jude…

The food was great! We ordered an Ethiopian dish…it consists of a huge platter with bread lining it and then on the bread, little piles of different kinds of vegetables and meat…I tried goat! For the first time! It was done well and tasted good…tick that off my list!

We ended up staying and chatting for a good 3 hours once all was said and done…we were sad to see them go but happy that they are done here. Hopefully we will meet again someday. As a parting gift, they gave Ken and I an Aussie Tour coin and a beer cozy…on the beer cozy, there is a picture of the Madagascar Penguins with “Just smile and wave boys….just smile and wave” written underneath. A very fitting phrase for here!

After that, we got ready and went to play ball hockey. Now I don’t play, it’s not mandatory, but I sit and watch and cheer them on. Last night they decided to have the Canucks against the non-Canucks…sadly we got trounced, but it was actually some good hockey to watch! 

Back at the house, our floor was still having water problems, and I think I know why…but that’s for tomorrow’s blog. Let’s just say I’m not sure we’ll get out birding today.

Now that the rainy season is upon us, I started taking my anti-malarial pills again. They do not promote good sleep habits….so up at 5:30am this morning, woken by the melodious sounds of Bastard and Asshole….doing a duet! Argh!

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on March 16, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

