15 March 2014 – Fresh Veggies


Fresh Vegetables! Who would have thought that this would be so exciting? The store we normally shop in, finally got some fresh produce in and so I splurged. I bought a head of lettuce! It cost me a pretty penny, but the fresh salad last night for supper was so good! We had an impromptu house meal and combined our efforts…Donna, you would be so proud of me! LOL. Tossed salad, homemade hummus, pita, pan fried veggies, and chicken. Very yummy!

Today we attempt to get together with our Aussie friends..I certainly hope it works out this time! They leave tomorrow. I will miss them! At the same time we will be saying goodbye to one of the flight attendants as well (we hope anyway). She leaves on Monday. Keep blogging Megan! 

It’s getting to be that time of the tour where we watch friends we’ve made leave to go back to their lives in their respective countries. It’s difficult to do because you know that seeing them again would take nothing less than a miracle. So we are left with the adage that people cross our paths for a reason..some for a short time and some for longer. 

Yesterday was another uneventful one…which, in this country, is a blessing. We met a very nice young man working for the Internet company that we use here…he’s from Uganda and is another one who expressed an interest in immigrating to Canada. We should open a recruiting office here….I think our military would be full if we did! Anyway, he seemed intent on coming over so we pointed him in the direction of the appropriate websites to look into immigration and the military. I hope it comes true for him..it would be a new lease on life if it does. He claims he likes the snow even though he has never experienced it….BOY is he in for a rude awakening! But you can’t stop the dreams of the youth and I think it’s an admirable one if he can make it work! Good luck Andrew!

Workday today which sucks! But looking forward to having some birding time tomorrow….I hope anyway. It will be my last kick at the cat if it is. Me and my camera return to Canada next week and only I will return for the last month here. I have been too nervous with it here and I am just tired of worrying. So home it will stay. 

That’s it for today

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on March 15, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

