12 March 2014 – Lizards and Roosters


1C1A1543-2

Near as I can tell, these are Agama lizards…just brilliant in when in breeding season

1C1A1549

And I think we have a mom to be running around!

Yesterday I noticed a pair of swallows flying around the house…this is the first time I had seen them in the area. As I sat there watching, I was cheering them on in their frantic efforts to get all of those malaria ridden mosquitoes….that line of thinking lead me to this post!

Since I have been here, I have tried to keep what little nature we have in the compound in tact. There are huge misconceptions by people in this country about grass, lizards, birds, etc

For example, there is a little patch of lawn that one of the guards kept pulling all of the grass out of. Apparently it’s because they believe that grass harbors insects…they HATE insects here. I asked him to let the grass grow in that area and lo and behold, we have a lovely little patch of flowers now growing there…which in turn attracts the butterflies.

I was also very surprised to learn that they were not aware that birds, toads and lizards eat the insects…that they are actually a GOOD thing to have around when it’s rainy season! Left to their own devices, all those creatures would be dead based on these misconceptions. I also explained that the feral cats are good to have around…they keep the rats away.

Now Ibrahim, one of the guards (he’s from Darfur), hates animals. However, god love him, he respects me enough to keep filled, the little water dish with rocks in it that I had put out a few months ago for the birds to get water and take baths in. And he has promised that even after I leave, he will keep doing it. I think I might have passed on a spark of something by being here…at least I hope I have.

Another interesting bit of info…they think that owls are bad omens..that they warn of someone going to die if they land near you. God love them again, but the guards, at one point, were out there looking for the owl that had been seen around the house. I have much respect for them for that!  I hope that they take what I have passed on and realize that all creatures have a place on this planet, and when one is lost, then the balance is gone…then something less desirable may come in it’s stead.

Great analogy for the UN hate articles and protests that have been going on recently.. I just hope that those that are spreading this hate understands that same concept…if we go, there is worse to come I fear.

1C1A1557

PS…meet Asshole…the brother of Basterd…yes, there are TWO of them…there always has been but this one has eluded my lens…until yesterday! 

That’s it for today

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on March 12, 2014, in Shining Moments. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Way to go, Lou-Anne… saving that little patch of green! You never know what the ripple effect of that might be. Love the lizards! Beautiful A..hole! 🙂

    • Thanks Donna…it’s only bit of nature here and I wanted to be able to enjoy it! Less lizards around I’m noticing…not sure if it’s birds eating them, or what. Hope this batch makes it. And when asshole and basterd start..what a duet! Grrrrr! LOL

Leave a Reply

