11 March 14 – Eye of the storm


That moment when you find out that the “arrogant turd’s” full name includes Mervyn!

I laughed and laughed. Somehow that made me a little sorry for him!

Yesterday was one of those days I live for…not because I got a gift from Irene (which I did), but because she thought so much of me that she used what little money she has to buy it. She has also given me a skirt (I will get a picture another time). I often doubted her intentions, I will admit. Everyone here seems to want to be your friend but it’s because they have so little, they figure you can get them something they need…they view us as wealthy and so it’s natural for this to occur. 

After yesterday, there is no doubt in my mind now that Irene is a truly selfless person (which was my first instinct but I thought I was too trusting)…here’s the note she wrote to me. I laminated it..she told me that I am her first Qwaja friend (not the correct spelling..it means white)

Irene's note

I had tears in my eyes and I was humbled. 

IMG_1522

Here’s the T-shirt she bought me:

It rained again last night…not as bad as Friday but enough that we are concerned about those that are temporarily housed at the bases. It’s going to make their situation even more dire…it’s a concern because there are so many that if they decide they want to have it better…well, I’ll leave that up to your imagination. Let’s just say I’m glad we live off base.

All in all, a really good day. A couple of the guys are on their way out for their vacation, so having them here to chat with is nice. 

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on March 11, 2014, in Shining Moments. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

