7 March 2014 – Dish Soap


Regardless of the chaos from the night before, life still goes on and so off Ken and I went to get some money exchanged and grab some supplies…just like home, I left the store forgetting to buy one of the items we needed..dish soap! LOL

While in one of the shops, we ran into a fellow Canadian who actually knows or knew some of the people I used to fly with in Trenton..what a small world it is! Funny though, talking about the previous night, he said that same thing that I have heard from other people that have served in Afghanistan over the years…this place is worse…they feel less safe and it’s more unpredictable. Again, not the first time I’ve heard someone say this about SSudan.

It was pretty quiet all day and in the evening, Beth and I got a chance to watch a movie….Captain Phillips…great one by Tom Hanks!

Last night I slept well…although my back is sore from this mattress this morning, but I’m not complaining, because I still have so much more compared to others here.

Hypervigilance….that’s the word that has been bantered about in news articles of late with regard to PTSD. I’m started to get what that means and why it can cause such problems when faced with the adjustment of going home. I plan to make sure I get assistance needed to deal with it (if required) so I can go back and not have to worry..I think I will be fine though. I had no problem relaxing on R&R!

Well, that’s see what today brings..hopefully a day where things can carry on in a normal sense…well, Juba normal anyway.

The picture on the cover is one I took at Murchison Falls.

That’s it for today.

 soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on March 7, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

