26 February 2014 – Where in the world…??


A late start to my blog today..didn’t have much to write until now.

Started my little trip to Uganda..last chance I’ll get before I head home for a visit and then back to Canada for good, so I am going to soak up everything I can while I’m here!

Our day started a little iffy…we wondered if we were going to make the flight out of Juba..the Government had all exit and roads leading to the base blocked with armed military because of an official ceremony that was taking place right next door at the airport. But we managed to get close enough driving to get out of the truck and do a quick two minute walk to the gate! Then we were off.


On arrival here, I was in my happy place…hundreds of swallows greeted us as we taxied down the runway. We checked into the hotel , relaxed a little, then decided it was time to go and eat. We stopped at the second floor balcony where I started seeing…you got it! BIRDS

1C1A3583Got a better pic of a double billed barbet!

1C1A3604

And I have no idea what this one is..but I will find out!

We then had the hotel driver take us out for dinner, but before that, we asked for a little tour of the town. I was so thrilled to see this fellow! He went and sat so pretty right on the side of the road for us!

1C1A3671

Vervet Monkey

Can’t wait to see what tomorrow’s adventures will bring! Off to the Botanical Gardens, the Zoo and then to a little spot we found on Lake Victoria that had lots of cool birds to see!

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off

PS- The food was heavenly!!!

 

 

 

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on February 26, 2014, in Safari. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

