23 February 2014 – I AM CANADIAN


Wow! What a busy day yesterday and another one today. Not much I can tell you other than some much needed and most welcomed supplies arrived on our C-17 Globemaster yesterday afternoon.

What a thrill to be right there on the tarmac watching them come in for a landing and then taxiing toward us. My heart swelled with pride..she’s beauty! And I was never so happy to see that beloved Maple Leaf! 

For those not familiar with the C17 Globemaster, here are a couple of pics of one. I so wished I could have had my camera to capture this whole thing yesterday…I don’t dare take the beast out anywhere though…cameras are NOT a good thing in this country

Image

This was taken in June 2008 during a family day in Trenton. Cameron was only 12 at the time and he stood on top of the truck to snap this as it flew in overhead for a landing.

Image

This picture was taken just before the previous one as it came in to land.

These planes are massive and quite the spectacle…and the noise! Whew, what a rush! Should have gone Air Force I guess! LOL

Watching them take off without us was heartbreaking and almost brought me to tears. 😦

We take so much for granted in our country…being here has humbled me. We complain, we gripe, we bitch about small things. But I’m telling you, strip away your freedom to speak, the right walk to around without fear of being shot or harassed, the freedom to take pictures or just take a drive and you will wish you could have it back…the other stuff won’t matter! 

Anyway, another busy day ahead today. Gotta finish what we didn’t get done yesterday. 

HOCKEY NIGHT IN JUBA LATER!

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off. 

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on February 23, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

