16 February 2014 – Humble Pie


Gooood morning Juba!

A tad cloudy and almost looks like a foggy day out there today. Rainy season is coming for sure. 

Sunday…the day of rest. Well, it’s supposed to be anyway. It started off with a phone call and then a request to have something done and so it’s really not a day off. I did what was needed, but in my PJ’s!!

It’s a “hide so no one can bug me” type of day..I feel like a doctor. Everyone finds out you’re a doctor and tries to get free advice about their ailments. It’s the same as a clerk. They find out I’m a clerk and all of sudden it’s “Hey, I have a clerky question for you…” It happened last night but the bonus is when I see the light bulb go on over their heads, knowing that they finally “get it”. It also disturbs me that no one had either tried to explain it, or just didn’t have the knowledge of the business we’re in to give him an answer. The corporate knowledge in our trade is being hit hard by attrition and it frightens me to think how many of  us are out there floundering around in the vast ocean of regulations and software that we find ourselves in, trying to get things right, especially when it’s always changing.  I guess that’s one of the reasons I stick around…my hope is that I can pass the wisdom I’ve gained on to others.

Yesterday was Beth’s 40th birthday! Paul made us a really nice dinner and Beth and I lounged around and watched a movie while he did it..talk about being spoiled! I reveled in it! Here’s a few pics of us and our meal out on the balcony..it was nice to be able to eat out there…normally it’s so full of smoke from people burning their garbage, that you can’t breathe. Thankfully we had a reprieve last night, and we were able to enjoy our surroundings in relative comfort.Image

 

Image

Image

Whatever this was called, it was good! And the fact that we are fortunate enough to have this to eat is humbling.

Have to make a run to the airport to pick my boss up from his vacation this afternoon… I won’t be stuck here alone anymore! 

Have a great Sunday! 

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off

PS- I just went back and read through this post…boy, it sounds like we’re living the good life here doesn’t it….don’t be deceived. I could be posting the really crappy stuff, but I choose not to. 

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on February 16, 2014, in Shining Moments. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. love this one hun. It’s nice to see a familiar face too! I carried him on a flight to WAU not too long ago,

    random question: how did you get your page to look so customized? I cant seem to do that 😦

Leave a Reply

