14 February 2014 – Happy UN Valentine’s/Woman’s Day Day


Get it? That was a joke…UN…United Nations…”un”  because I am not celebrating it?? Huh? Huh?  I know….I hear the collective “Groan” from all the way over here! And I didn’t stutter in the title…you have to read on to find out. 🙂

Got some goodwill packages in the mail yesterday thanks to my little sis and my good friend from MFRC in Borden…oh, yeah, for those not familiar with military speak, MFRC stands for the Military Family Resource Center. Anyway got some GREAT stuff!Image,

A bag full of body lotions and scrubs, some foot soaking salts, and some other “feel good” stuff! Thanks LL and Gil!!

Image

My box of goodies! I feel a movie night coming on!

Image

I especially liked the big kissy lips that the kids from MFRC sent me…I laughed when I saw them!

As I sat on the balcony and looked out over the area in which we reside, it never ceases to amaze me at how much the women here can carry on their heads. The fact they carry it on their heads is amazing to start with! I finally had my camera handy and snapped this pic through the window of this lady with a particularly large bundle of stuff balanced precariously on her pate..and not just that, she’s toting another large bundle of stuff over her shoulder! Unreal!

IMG_1398

Click for a larger view…pretty impressive!

This weekend I will be taking part in the Global Backyard Bird Count! Why not? I can almost predict which birds and how many, but this way it will be recorded. At least it gets me birding even if it’s from my windows!

http://ebird.org/content/ebird/news/great-global-backyard-bird-count-this-weekend/

Check out the link if you are interested in participating..Cornell is looking for 50% of the world’s species of birds this year. Even if you are a non-birder, it might be fun to do this!

To round yesterday off, I volunteered to be interviewed for a Woman’s day Article coming out in about a month. They want to profile my career as a female in the military and my role in a deployed operation. Cool!

Thanks for the rainbow Beverly. 🙂

That’s it for today

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on February 14, 2014, in Shining Moments, South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

