11 February 2014 – The Unforgiving Minute


The title today is actually the user name of one my friends who also blogs on this site…I borrowed it for my title because of reading her most recent post.

Just as she claims to have had a reality check about her life based on one of my posts, I am not sure she realizes that she just did the same for me. 

Her post basically describes the situation that all military families face…change. And not just the small ones. We face life altering changes that are sometimes very hard to adjust to…especially the ones where it affects the financial aspect or the family aspect. She goes on to describe a yoga session she had where they were asked to picture the shining lights in their lives in an effort to get into a state of total relaxation. She listed some of the simple joys in her life and asked that we do the same.

Here are mine:

Reveling in my son’s accomplishments

Coming home to a wonderful husband

My pets

Exploring the woods around the house in search of those elusive little birds

Sitting in front of the fireplace in our cozy little cabin

I am not a person who is hard to please…at least I don’t think I am, and some may disagree…but they don’t know me too well if they think that! My new pair of sandals were the highlight of my day yesterday. Even under normal circumstances, it’s the small things that bring me the most pleasure. Damn, a new toothbrush sometimes works for me!

 

Image

So I’ve listed just some of the things I love about my life. Just as my friend did in her blog, I invite you all to comment and leave me a list of the little (or big) things in life that bring you joy and happiness. 

That’s it for today

soldiermomma signing off

PS- I had just taken my socks off and slipped on my sandals when I took this picture…in case you’re wondering why my feet resemble those of an elephant!

 

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on February 11, 2014, in Shining Moments. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

