7 February 2014 – Guinea Pig


Who would have thought that I would be doing this everyday? This is my 16th post and it’s a lot easier than I had expected…I guess it’s because, as most of those close to me have been saying for years, I have a lot to say! 

Another busy day ahead and yesterday went by quickly. We had a “girl’s” dinner last night. Currently the UN contracts a Canadian Company to airlift their personnel and cargo in and out of country, as well as internally. Bonus to this, is the fact that the crews are Canadian and right now, one crew consists of a female pilot and flight attendant!  We all met up before the crisis, had a girls night here in the house with karaoke and food..it was great. We haven’t been able to do this since then, but last night, me, Beth, Meagan and Stacey all got together and had a nice dinner. I’m sure it is one they will remember and if they are reading this, the picture below will make sense! LOL

Image

This guy looks how I feel!

Today I will be the contingent Guinea Pig..I am in desperate need of a haircut and as already mentioned, our new cleaner doubles as a hairdresser/barber…or did I mention that? Anyway, I am biting the bullet even after joking around with her about whether or not she can cut a white woman’s hair! She does wonderful corn braids but can she do layers? Today, I will find out, today, I take one for the team…a picture will follow at some point if it looks good, if not, I will be wearing a baseball cap until it grows back! Who knows, maybe this will be the start of a lucrative little side business for her…especially if I get the word around to the other contingents. Time will tell.

Bastard is out there crowing away as if I haven’t been awake since 4:30am! Guess he’s telling me to get the rest of my day on the go!

That’s it for today…stay tuned

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on February 7, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

