6 February 2014- Disease


No, I’m not afflicted but there are several prominent diseases running rampant through Ottawa as many will attest to. 

There’s the “That’s below my pay grade” disease, the “I’m too stunned to get anything done” disease, “We are the experts, so we will treat you like a child who doesn’t know anything” disease and the most damaging one of all, the “That’s not my job, I’ll pass it on” disease.

I believe that I had to deal with people that have been afflicted by at least one , if not multiple ones, yesterday. Needless to say, I was up late working their hours, and Bastard, faithful as always, woke me up far too early.

I think the most frustrating part about being here is the feeling of helplessness..that we have no control over our fate, that we are at the mercy of not only our host Government, but the UN and Ottawa; that help, if needed, is 6000 kms away and I hold out very little hope that the ones we count on the most would able to respond in times of need, in any kind of organized or timely manner. I see a lot of people posting articles, rants etc about the Veterans and I feel for them and applaud their cause, but at least they are in Canada and not getting support as opposed to being in one of these godforsaken countries and not getting it. 

I feel like a bird in a cage. Paranoia is starting to set in and I don’t want to live like that while I’m here. But I have no choice, because complacency is our biggest enemy…and that’s when shit happens. 

So, I live on the edge of my last nerve, jump at every little sound, keep my eyes open as much as I can, question everything that goes on around me, keep the doors locked and don’t venture out unless I have to.  

Almost half way done. 

That’s it for today.

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on February 6, 2014, in Shining Moments. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You are a very good storyteller……consider giving up your boots and become an author.

  2. Keep your wits about you and hang tough! My favourite saying – “No cure for stupidity” and it’s hard to have your life depending on that!

  3. Hang in there, Soldiermomma!!

Leave a Reply

