4 February 2014 – WTFudge??


What a shitty night. I snuggled into bed with my book, and inevitably fell asleep.  Then, with the air conditioner on (which usually serves to block out most noises except Bastard) BAM-BAM-BAM-BAM! I was in REM sleep and I woke and and I jumped up yelling  “Yeah?” thinking it was someone banging on my door, that’s how close and loud the noise was. In a nanosecond, my brain registered that it wasn’t this, it was gunshots…or was it? Doesn’t matter, that’s what I think now every time I hear a loud noise that sounds close to it. There was some kind of raucous in behind us, but not sure what it was all about.  Sleep eluded me for another hour or so after that and then Bastard did his job and got me out of bed at 6:30. 

Previous to this, my day went well…very busy and I put in about 15hrs of work or so. The highlight of my day?

1C1A3336

The girl that is teaching me Swahili had mentioned that she would go to the market to buy me a skirt like the ones she wears because I was admiring them so much. I gave her some money and she came back yesterday with this one. Now I guess she wants to be my personal shopper, because she was talking about how she wanted to get me a pair of Kenyan sandles and a blouse to match the skirt (Skirti) and she mentioned a traditional dress..she was chattering on so much, I missed a lot of it, but I think her heart is in the right place. She even mentioned about cutting my hair for me….okay, I don’t think THAT is going to happen! But the thing that kind of threw me for a loop was when I mentioned that this was great because we are not allowed to go to the markets shopping, she said “I don’t understand why everyone not like the UN.” This coming from a girl who cleans for a living and is out and about in the populace quite a bit. Doesn’t give me the warm and fuzzies. 

On a lighter note, fudge…is there anything more delectable, or feel more indulgent, than eating that small, wrapped morsel of sweetness? Close your eyes, let it melt in your mouth and try not to think of the 180 calories per bit that you are consuming, and just savor it. :O

That’s it for today

soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on February 4, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

