Swahili


Image

Although Swahili is not the main language here in the Sudans, Swahili is spoken by a lot of the workers that come here to make money for their families. As I mentioned earlier today, one of the girls that comes in to clean is insistent on teaching me how to speak some of the language. Why not? I have a bad memory and so I thought that I would keep track of what I learn in a blog and that way I can update it regularly. Amazing how many words we already know from the Disney Classic “The Lion King”!!

The map shows the countries within Africa where Swahili is spoken.

Maji – Water

Kiti (kee-tee) – Chair

Mzuri (m-zuri) – good

Habari – morning

Chakala – food

Naenda – I’m going

leo (lay-o)- today

Kesho (kee-sho) – tomorrow

Asante Sana – thank you very much (drop sana for just thank you)

Rafiki – Friend

Karibu (kar-ee-bou) – Welcome

Nja – Hungry

Nahisi – I’m feeling

Nahisi nja- I’m hungry

Kata – Cutting

Nataka – I want

Kukata – to cut

nyuwele – Hair

Yangu – mine

Nataka kukaka nyuwele – I want to cut my hair

Yako – yours

Kuna – It is

Joto – hot

Kuna joto – it is hot

Nafanga – I am

Kaziry – working

Si – not

Nafanga kaziry – I am working

Si nafanga kaziry – I am not working

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on January 30, 2014, in Swahili. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

