30 January 2014 – The Good Wolf


Blog

Today, I am the good wolf. 

As dark as my day started yesterday, I found a few handholds to help me out of that slippery slide…first, was a dear friend who immediately got on FB and kept me chatting and even got a giggle or two out of me. 

Next was a message from another dear friend, a long time sufferer of Manic-Depression, telling me how she wished she were as strong as I..she is, she just hasn’t realized it yet. 🙂 I told her this and I hope one day she believes it. 

Then our cleaners arrived, and the girl from Kenya (Irene), a real social butterfly and chatty Kathy, decided it was Swahili lesson time. She taught me some simple words and phrases..actually quite a simple language to learn! I mentioned how much I liked her skirt…and she offered to get one for me at the market! Love her! 

The final handhold came quite unexpectedly….our property manager was here and discussing with my boss and I some of things that need to be taken care of. I was walking with him to the kitchen to discuss our future installation of an AC unit (oh I can’t wait!). The look on his face when he saw Ken (a MAN!) doing dishes!!! PRICELESS! Unheard of in the culture here and surrounding countries. I love CANADA. And a big shout out to Ken for being the kind of guy that doesn’t mind getting dishpan hands! That, my friends, made my day! Who would have thought! 

1C1A3214-2

Being the good wolf I am today, I am focusing on good stuff.  We finally got our packages that we have been waiting for since this whole crisis started. In the mail bags were long delayed Christmas cards from all over Canada. This is a picture of just a fraction of the mail we have received since long before Christmas ever arrived. It is heartening and at the same time, saddens me…we just can’t keep or respond to all of these…we have no way to get mail back home and there are just too many. But it’s so cute some of the ones that are sent from the kids in schools…their little hearts are in the right place even if they don’t understand exactly where these are going and who they are going to. Love them! Love them all!

1C1A3227

Even in my funk yesterday morning, I recognized the beauty of this sunrise..and the fact that I lived another day to witness it. To get these pics, I have to pull the curtains in my room aside a tad, slide open the window and snipe standing back inside my room..but worth it! 

1C1A3222

Snapped these egrets flying by in the early morning at about the same time as the sunrise.  It’s hard to capture the beauty of this through the lens but it doesn’t stop me from trying.

1C1A3231-2

Meet Bastard! This is the Bastard below me that decides when I start my day, whether it’s 3:30am or 5:30am, he decides….usually he gets me up and then disappears before it gets light enough to get a picture…but here he is, in all his glory, crowing away at me! The BASTARD!

Another busy day looms, and I have to go now. 

That’s it for today

Soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on January 30, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

