27 January 2014- The Sounds of War


BUP! BA-DUP-DUP-DUP! BA-DA-DA-DA-DUP!

Yup! Got MY attention last night too, as the 5 days and evenings without gunfire was broken. The staccato of heavy caliber weapons fire and the sight tracer rounds not too far from us were the last thing we saw before going to bed, hoping that it wouldn’t amount to anything more than drunken soldiers on the loose with loaded weapons…a common occurrence here. According to Twitter (yes, a great source of instant intelligence) that’s exactly what had happened…but it can sure send the fear of God into everyone when it does!  I gotta quit smoking…seems like that’s the time it all starts is when I am sitting out there puffing away! It really isn’t good for one’s health, is it! LOL

So needless to say, that wiped away any efforts I had of going to sleep early and getting a good night’s. Finally did pass out but woke with a start at 3am wondering if everything was okay. Today, I am homesick. 

My dearest and long time friend messaged me the other day asking for my address here…she loves putting care packages together and wanted to know what I missed from home so that she could send it…unfortunately, what I miss most won’t fit in a box and can’t be shipped. Besides, I don’t think Tim and Cameron could hold their breath for that long a trip! So, that idea being out the window, I will ask for something a little simpler, like Miracle Whip, Breton Crackers,sour gummies, black licorice and few other not-existent products in this part of the world. 🙂

Today promises to be busy…it is Monday after all, and no matter where you are in the world, it still sucks! I have the big windows open trying to get some fresh, cooler air into the office since the A/C isn’t working. At 3am, I think the temperature was over 30 degrees but a nice breeze has blown in and so I am taking advantage of it…because by noon, it will be stifling in here and difficult to work. 

Had a great Canada House “family” dinner last night. I made macaroni salad and Beth made pizzas on the BBQ as planned. We had a meat lovers, a Hawaiian, a vegetarian and an artisan one..all very good considering the limited ingredients we have to choose from here. Fresh fruit and veggies are hard to come by, so most meals are out of a can sent from caring and loving folks from home. It’s the small things that can bring comfort sometimes…pizza is one of them!  And Ken got lucky at the market the other day and brought back some fresh red, yellow and green peppers…along with some onions, shredded carrots and some cucumber, my salad was a hit! I also sweated it out in the kitchen and brewed up some homemade spaghetti sauce yesterday. That and a loaf of garlic bread is on the menu tonight…I must say, that sauce is pretty damn yummy (all good cooks test the product you know!). 

Image

Thought I would leave you with a picture of a Citrus Swallowtail…I don’t just take pics of birds!

Guess I better get my ass in gear and get some breakfast into me. 

That’s it for today.

Soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on January 27, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

