26 January 2014- From the Balcony


Soooo, sitting here on the third floor balcony that we are fortunate to have, watching Juba come to life. It’s still not back to the way it was when we got here….many, many residents have left, but, it’s getting busier everyday. Image

I sit out here in the mornings as much as the air quality will allow. There seems to be no garbage burning this morning, so the air is quite clean and breathable today…this coming from a smoker! LOL  It’s hard to believe that just over a month ago, I was leopard crawling out the patio door in my flak vest and helmet to even have a smoke…I wonder now “What the HELL was I thinking?” 

Image

The birds have been my constant companions since arriving here…the Cordon Bleus, Wagtails, Bulbul, Mannikins, Fiscal Shrikes and Kites give me hours of entertainment and enjoyment even if I can’t get my camera out safely to capture the moments. It’s a nice distraction to say the least, and a reminder that regardless of what humans do to each other on this planet, nature always finds a way to survive. 

Image

Today’s agenda includes….ABSOLUTELY NOTHING! Day off! I am thankful for Skype so that I can call Tim when our schedules allow due to the time difference. Calling home doesn’t make me as homesick now as it first did. We are having a “family” dinner…some more time at the pool, and I think that Beth is making pizza on the BBQ. It’s hard not to feel guilty when there are so many people in this country that are doing without, have left what meager possessions they might have behind, only to walk hundreds of miles seeking shelter in places that may or may not be better. My father always told us to eat what was on our plates because there were people in the world that were starving. Those words have never been more poignant.

That’s if for today

Soldiermomma signing off

About lbidal

I am an average woman, of average age, leading an average life...at least on the surface. Sixteen years ago, I chose to spice up the average-ness of my life by putting on combat boots. Some of my blogs reflect my experiences while wearing them. Some blogs are of my passion and hobby, birding and bird photography...and some, well, can't help but blogging about average things living an average life! Enjoy!

Posted on January 26, 2014, in South Sudan. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

